awards

The sustainable promotion of galleries and artists is one of the guiding principles of paper positions. For this reason, we present awards and young artists’ prizes together with renowned partners to honor outstanding achievements in the field of contemporary art.

 

LEUE & NILL Award
The LEUE & NILL Award is presented annually since 2022 to the best presentation by a gallery at paper positions berlin. The prize is awarded for the special curatorial approach to the artistic content on display. The award-winning gallery will receive significant financial support for its participation in the fair from our partner and sponsor LEUE & NILL.

Winning gallery 2023
Malte Uekermann Kunsthandel, Berlin

 

paper positions award
Since 2019, paper positions berlin has been presenting the paper positions award, made possible by RKA Rechtsanw├Ąlte, and since 2023 by the Kaiserwetter agency. The award, which is given exclusively to female artists, recognizes an outstanding contemporary position on the subject of drawing and the medium of paper and includes a special presentation in the following year.

Winners
2023 Katharina Hinsberg (Galerie Werner Klein, Cologne)
2022 Maija Kurševa (Māksla XO, Riga)
2021 Nora Schattauer (Galerie Rupert Pfab, Dusseldorf)
2020 Iris Schomaker (Galerie Thomas Schulte, Berlin)
2019 Hell Gette (Golestani Gallery, D├╝sseldorf)

 

Paper Art Award
The Paper Art Award is sponsored and made possible by Canon, d’mage and Hahnem├╝hle. It is awarded annually at paper positions in Berlin and honors artists who deal with the material paper in an outstanding, stimulating and independent way. A selection of works by the award winners will be purchased for the collection of the paper art museum “Haus des Papiers” in Berlin, with a total purchase value of 36.000 Euro.

Winners
2023
Ursula Sax (Semjon Contemporary, Berlin)
Gisoo Kim (Mianki.Gallery, Berlin)
Amparo Sard (Galerie Anita Beckers, Frankfurt)
Brian Dettmer (Galerie Commeter, Hamburg)
Ken’ichiro Taniguchi (Mikiko Sato Gallery, Hamburg)

2022
Afshan Daneshvar (O Gallery, Tehran)
Goekhan Erdogan (Galerie Heike Strelow, Frankfurt am Main)
Aja von Loeper (Wichtendahl Galerie, Berlin)
Lisa Tiemann (Schwarz Contemporary, Berlin)

2021
Fiene Scharp (Kuckei + Kuckei, Berlin)
Astrid Busch (Galerie Rupert Pfab, D├╝sseldorf)
Angela Glajcar (Galerie Nanna Preu├čners, Hamburg)

awards

Die nachhaltige Förderung von Galerien und KĂŒnstler:innen gehört zum Leitgedanken der paper positions. Aus diesem Grund verleihen wir zusammen mit renommierten Partnern Awards und Nachwuchspreise, um herausragende Leistungen im Bereich zeitgenössischer Kunst zu wĂŒrdigen.

 

LEUE & NILL Award
Mit dem LEUE & NILL Award wird seit 2022 jĂ€hrlich die beste PrĂ€sentation einer Galerie im Rahmen der paper positions berlin ausgezeichnet. PrĂ€miert wird der besondere kuratorische Umgang mit den gezeigten kĂŒnstlerischen Inhalten. Die mit dem Award ausgezeichnete Galerie erhĂ€lt von unserem Partner LEUE & NILL eine finanzielle UnterstĂŒtzung in Höhe von 50% ihrer Standkosten.

PreistrÀger:innen
2023 Malte Uekermann Kunsthandel, Berlin
2022 FeldbuschWiesnerRudolph, Berlin

 

paper positions award
Bereits seit 2019 vergibt die paper positions berlin den paper positions award, ermöglicht durch RKA RechtsanwĂ€lte, seit 2023 durch die Agentur Kaiserwetter. Die Auszeichnung, die ausschließlich an KĂŒnstlerinnen vergeben wird, wĂŒrdigt eine herausragende zeitgenössische Position zum Thema Zeichnung und dem Medium Papier und beinhaltet eine SonderprĂ€sentation im folgenden Jahr.

PreistrÀgerinnen
2023 Katharina Hinsberg (Galerie Werner Klein, Köln)
2022 Maija Kurƥeva (Māksla XO, Riga)
2021 Nora Schattauer (Galerie Rupert Pfab, DĂŒsseldorf)
2020 Iris Schomaker (Galerie Thomas Schulte, Berlin)
2019 Hell Gette (Golestani Gallery, DĂŒsseldorf)

 

Paper Art Award
Gestiftet und ermöglicht wird der Paper Art Award von Canon, d’mage und HahnemĂŒhle. Er wird jĂ€hrlich auf der paper positions in Berlin verliehen und zeichnet KĂŒnstler:innen aus, die sich in herausragender, impulsgebender und eigenstĂ€ndiger Weise mit dem Werkstoff Papier auseinandersetzen. Bei den PreistrĂ€ger:innen werden AnkĂ€ufe im Gesamtwert von 36.000 Euro durch das 2021 gegrĂŒndete Papierkunst-Museum „Haus des Papiers“ in Berlin getĂ€tigt.

PreistrÀger:innen
2023
Ursula Sax (Semjon Contemporary, Berlin)
Gisoo Kim (Mianki.Gallery, Berlin)
Amparo Sard (Galerie Anita Beckers, Frankfurt)
Brian Dettmer (Galerie Commeter, Hamburg)
Ken’ichiro Taniguchi (Mikiko Sato Gallery, Hamburg)

2022
Afshan Daneshvar (O Gallery, Teheran)
Goekhan Erdogan (Galerie Heike Strelow, Frankfurt am Main)
Aja von Loeper (Wichtendahl Galerie)
Lisa Tiemann (Schwarz Contemporary)

2021
Fiene Scharp (Kuckei + Kuckei, Berlin)
Astrid Busch (Galerie Rupert Pfab, DĂŒsseldorf)
Angela Glajcar (Galerie Nanna Preußners, Hamburg)